Where Do I File for Bankruptcy?

Most clients do not think about where they will be filing when they consider bankruptcy, however, it is important to hire an attorney who is familiar with the various jurisdictions and trustees who work in them. In the greater New York City area we have two Federal District Court divisions which consist of the Southern District of New York (SDNY) and the Eastern District of New York (EDNY).

The Southern District of New York consists of the Manhattan Division, White Plains Division and Poughkeepsie Division. The Manhattan Division serves the Bronx and Westchester counties. The Poughkeepsie Division serves Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, and Sullivan Counties and the White Plains Division serves Westchester County and Rockland County. http://www.nysb.uscourts.gov/

In the Eastern District of New York, the Brooklyn Division serves Queens, Kings (Brooklyn) and Richmond (Staten Island) and the Central Islip Division serves Nassau and Suffolk counties. http://www.nyeb.uscourts.gov/

The websites for the bankruptcy courts in both the Southern District and Eastern District of New York provide directions and a plethora of information regarding bankruptcy.

Our New York offices are located in Westchester County and Queens County, and provide convenient locations for us to practice bankruptcy law and serve our clients. Contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced bankruptcy lawyer.